Light vs. heavy object: Does one fall faster than other?

Standard

In my physics class we’ve been discussing all aspects of a falling object. Does it speed up? Slow down? Fall at the same rate? What will the trajectory look like? What will the trajectory look like if it’s dropped by a horizontal moving force? We’ve experimented, discussed and experimented again. Some of our questions have been answered and some questions are still being discussed. Last Tuesday we started discussing the speed of two falling objects and if their weight affects their speed. We were asked to argue two ideas. The first, heavier objects land first and second, regardless of weight the objects will land at the same time. Here are my arguments …

Heavier lands first?

When I think of this idea I immediately think of skydivers. Now, I’ve never been skydiving but I know people who have. One of those people is my sister. When she went skydiving with her boyfriend (Justin) I asked … who jumped first? She told me Justin jumped first. Some might say this is because she was scared and wanted him to go first, but I knew this couldn’t be because I know my sister too well. If anything, her boyfriend would’ve been the scared one! So I thought … maybe Justin had to jump first because he is heavier than her. If she would’ve jumped first he could have potentially caught up to her in the air and that would of resulted in a dangerous situation. Gravity is a constant force but does it double or triple based on the objects weight? I decided to ask some other people who have been skydiving to find out who jumped first. I put an email out on my school private folder and asked people to email me if they’ve been skydiving. I got a handful of responses. I found that in most skydiving situations the heavier person jumped first out of the plane. Again, I’ve never been skydiving so I’m not sure if there’s a specific reason for having the heavier person jump first or if it’s just a coincidence. My conclusion is that the heavier person falls faster and could catch up to the lighter person if they jumped first.

Objects land at the same time?

I started thinking about my reasoning for why heavier objects land first and pictured in my head those skydivers that do tricks in the air. You know the ones that make cool shapes in the air with their bodies? If heavier objects fall at different rates than lighters ones then how is it possible objects land at the same time? Gravity is a constant force pulling objects down at the same rate no matter the weight. This must be why skydivers can do tricks like this in the air. They are all falling at the same rate and therefore land at the same time.  Skydivers wouldn’t be able to do this if the heavier person fell faster.

Image

Image Source: http://houston.informermg.com/2012/10/21/2012-u-s-parachute-association-national-skydiving-championships-to-launch-outside-phoenix-october-25-to-november-3/

Now I’m not sure what to think! I’m pretty positive objects fall at the same speed but I don’t exactly know why. I’m looking forward to experimenting with this idea in Tuesday night’s class! Hopefully some of our questions can be answered and a conclusion can be reached!

3 responses »

  1. Kayla,

    I like how you include so many personal examples in your write-up. I think it’s cool how you ask people questions from class. This is a great way to receive instant feedback while educating the public about STEM topics. When I read your blog, I thought about those skydivers that wear the suits that look like a flying squirrel. The ability to increase your surface area seems like it would give you more control over the tricks being done in mid-air. You could soar like a piece of paper or nose dive like an osprey. Thanks for the insightful post.

    Eric

  2. I really liked the example you used for your argument. It is an interesting example and creative perspective on the argument. I like how it is a real life event versus throwing random objects.

  3. I really like your example of skydiving, Kayla. I’ve never been either, so I never really thought about who jumps out first, but your argument makes sense that if the heavier person were to catch up with the lighter person, chaos would ensue. I also like how you bring in the tricks skydivers do to argue for the second situation.

    I really think your first argument is very compelling and makes me think heavier objects fall faster.

Leave a comment